Cover of: Sharpe Read Online

Sharpe"s eagle Richard Sharpe and the Talavera campaign July 1809 by Bernard Cornwell

  • 137 Want to read
  • ·
  • 11 Currently reading

Published by Penguin Books in New York, N.Y., U.S.A .
Written in English



  • Great Britain


  • Napoleonic Wars, 1800-1815 -- Fiction,
  • Sharpe, Richard (Fictitious character) -- Fiction,
  • Great Britain -- History, Military -- 19th century -- Fiction

Book details:

Edition Notes

Reprint. Originally published: New York : Viking Press, 1981.

StatementBernard Cornwell.
LC ClassificationsPR6053.O75 S5 1987
The Physical Object
Pagination270 p. ;
Number of Pages270
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL2726684M
ISBN 100140099212
LC Control Number86020504

Download Sharpe"s eagle


Bernard Cornwell's books about the adventures of British soldier Richard Sharpe during the Napoleonic Wars have been enjoyed by millions, mixing – as they do – a combination of action, combat, and historical research. However, readers can have difficulty putting the many volumes into chronological order, especially as the author has written many prequels and sequels. Sharpe's Eagle: Book VIII of the Sharpe Series Audible Audiobook – Unabridged Bernard Cornwell (Author), Frederick Davidson (Narrator), Blackstone Audio, Inc. (Publisher) & out of 5 stars ratings. See all 34 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions. Price /5().   "Sharpe's Eagle" is "The Triumph and the Glory" of the Napoleonic War novels. What Rustad's WWII novel does for the Second World War, Cornwell's skill has done for this earlier era. I'm more familiar with war novels about 20th Century conflict, but greatly admired Cornwell's Civil War books so thought I'd give his Richard Sharpe books a try.5/5(5).   Directed by Tom Clegg. With Sean Bean, Assumpta Serna, Brian Cox, Daragh O'Malley. Sharpe is a Captain saddled with the South Essex, a battalion run by incompetents, and filled with soldiers who have never been in battle. When the South Essex loses its colors (its regimental flag), Sharpe vows to save the honor of the regiment by capturing a French /10(K).

"Sharpe's Eagle" was a fascinating book. The action scenes were read just right to keep the flow moving and the characterizations fit throughout the reading. I'm hooked. Off to get more of Sharpe and see what other problems he runs into as the war goes on. By the way, the historical accuracy also helped make the book believable.   The Paperback of the Sharpe's Eagle (Sharpe Series #8) by Bernard Cornwell at Barnes & Noble. FREE Shipping on $35 or more! Due to COVID, orders may be delayed/5(48).   Watch Sharpe's Eagle part 1 - jman on Dailymotion. Read Sharpes Devil Napoleon and South America The Sharpe Series Book 21 Ebook Free. Sharpe’s Eagle. The very first Sharpe book – and if you own an original hardback (of any of the first four or five books) with its dust jacket then take care of it – it’s valuable. I’ve never dared to re-read the book, but so far as I remember it tells the tale of the battle of Talavera and, of course, the plot concerns the need to.

London: Collins, 1st Edition. Hardcover. Cornwell, Bernard. SHARPE'S EAGLE. London: Collins, First Edition of Bernard Cornwell's first book and the first in the Richard Sharpe saga. 8vo. pp. A near fine copy in green cloth, unobtrusive small remainder mark to the title-page, front free endpaper professionally refreshed, gilt titles to the spine in a bright, fresh, near. Buy a cheap copy of Sharpe's Eagle book. Free shipping over $/5(5). Cornwell's series charts Richard Sharpe's progress in the British Army during the Napoleonic Wars. He begins in Sharpe's Tiger as a Private in the 33rd Regiment of foot, who becomes a Sergeant by the end of the book, and an Ensign in the 74th Regiment who is transferred to the newly formed 95th Rifles as a Second-Lieutenant during Sharpe's. The books follow Sharpe’s progress in the British army. The series was adapted into a television film series with Sean Bean playing Richard Sharpe. The Richard Sharpe series began in with Sharpe’s Eagle, followed closely by Sharpe’s Gold, although the historical chronology is different from the publication order.